For Immediate Release

The Big 7 Association held its 28th Annual Scholarship and Awards Banquet on February 26, 2022, virtually due to the continued Covid-19 pandemic. It was our second event held via the internet as we felt it was important to continue supporting the educational process. Despite the Coronavirus our children are still graduating from High School and going to institutions of higher education and that is too important for the Big 7 Association to give up on.

We would like to thank all those who supported us with your donations by going online to watch our banquet video via our website at We would also like to thank our sponsors who bought ads, became scholarship partners, or just gave their time. Over the past 28 years we have given out over $175,000 in scholarships and in 2022 our students received a total of $15, 500 in scholarships. The winners of the scholarships this year were Ms. Mia Cohen, Ms. Katelyn Danner, Mr. Daniel Trull, Mr. Terrance Wallace and Mr. Naveon Buxton from Barnwell High School, Ms. Alyssa Brown, and Mr. Johnny Dunbar from Williston High School, Mr. Deonte Stanley, and Mr. Deon Allen from Blackville-Hilda High school, Ms. Nianne Rivers from Denmark Olar High School, Mr. Jorell Banks from Bamberg Ehrhardt, Ms. Candence Gray and Ms. Ali’Avnna Curry from Allendale Fairfax High school. Congratulations to all the winners and their families. The Big 7 Association takes pride in recognizing individuals in the community who have made substantial contributions to Business, Community Service, and Education. We also present a Humanitarian Award each year. This year we recognized Ms. Natalia Johnson, Deputy Sheriff Eric Kirkland, Mrs. Kimberli Scott Still (not pictured), and Representative Justin Bamberg (not pictured) for Community Service. Deputy Sheriff Donald Danner received an award recognizing him for setting the example for the importance of Education by going back to college and getting his degree at the age of 66. The Humanitarian Award went to Mrs. Donna Moore Wesby of Aiken SC for her steadfast work in the CSRA with informative workshops, radio and television broadcasts called Education Matters, former Aiken County Board of Education member as well as several other boards and now is serving as General Manager of WAAW Shout 94.7FM Urban Gospel radio station. Mrs. Wesby is also the Co-Founder of Umoja Village

Mr. Matthew O’Stricker served as our keynote speaker for the banquet. Barnwell is the home of many paternal relatives of Matthew including his father, Winston O’Stricker, who is a 1983 graduate of Barnwell High School. Matthew is currently a sophomore attending Duke University and is serving as President of the Student Government Association. We felt it was important for our youth to hear from a young man who is moving in a positive direction. Special thanks to Mrs. Belinda Parker, Mrs. Donna Wesby, Contemporary Violinist Daniel Davis, National Gospel singers The Wardlaw Brothers, South Carolina DHEC, Mr. Dion Washington (Videographer), Mr. Gary Meadows (, National Public Radio Journalist Mr. Scott Morgan and musician Mr. Randy Gamble for your video participation. The Big 7 Association’s mission is “One helping One to uplift all” and we humbly ask everyone for your continued support by purchasing access to our 28th Annual Scholarship video for a minimum donation of $5 or more. Download the video to see our youth express themselves about their school and majors. To any company or corporation, you can also become a scholarship partner at whatever level is comfortable to you. Just log on to You can contact us at You can make a donation via our website, cash app at $big7association, or mail to PO Box 722, Barnwell SC 29812. We are a 501 c3 tax-exempt organization. Thank you so much,
The Big7 Association